Still.

The SmithsStill Ill (Live)

I didn’t grow up with rock or angst or harsh critical thought. The canon consisted of pop mainly. Appreciation for the greatest band in the world grew only in my mid 20s as life came to fruition. Kind of. Seeing it for what it is, grasping and pasting fragments on my own accord. Resigning to darkness, temper and moody nights. Capturing those moments in time to this soundtrack.

Now it makes me miss smoking, ponder nineties simplicity and old forgotten dreams, envision this playing on vinyl under Mediterranean sky while the rest unravels.

I celebrate the band I love most daily. This song, arguably my favorite of all time, a punch that pierces with its philosophy and yearning. Still on heavy rotation. Still.

Happy 30th Anniversary to a debut album that changed everything.

[get]

Leave a Comment :)

